What is Your Joy?

My first issue of Saveur magazine arrived in the mail the other day and a little twing inside my stomach reminded me I still have that child-like excitement when I see something that brings me absolute joy.  Before I begin, let me just get something out of the way right up front:  I love my children, my husband, my family and friends.  They all bring me joy and I will say that my husband can still sneak me a look from across a crowded room sending a shiver of excitement my way.

But, I am not talking here about love-of-people-joy joy.

I’m talking about that other joy.  The Joie de Vivre!  The joy of living – that which fulfills you as a human being — gets you out of bed in the morning.  The passion you were born with that may take time – possibly years to discover.  I am figuring it out.  And it began this week, with the arrival of Saveur.  My stomach chirped, like a small bird so happy to have found the worm.

And I realized, what I’ve always known….I love cooking magazines.  I love cookbooks.  I love holding them in my hands, carefully flipping pages.  I love the photos.  I love the stories.  And at the risk of sounding like a bit of a hoarder (gasp!) I don’t easily part with them.  I do, however file them in monthly order by year.  I’m sure I’m giving you the wrong impression and realize I’m risking a phone call from the local chapter of an OCD support group.

IMG_2257

But, look at this!  The December 1997 issue of Better Homes and Gardens.  The cover is a throwback — the very first BH&G holiday cover and somehow in my early twenties I had the forethought to save it.  I take it out this same time every year.  It’s like a warm cup of hot cocoa –more like the sweet marshmallow floating on top.

Which reminds me….I promised the kids we’d make homemade gingerbread marshmallows after school today.  I’m off to the market for unflavored gelatin!

2 thoughts on “What is Your Joy?

Leave a Reply

