Update on Goulish Avocado Mango Salad and Last Night’s No-Plan Dinner Keeps the Vampires Away

After my last post I went grocery shopping and bought the ingredients I needed for Avocado Mango Salad.  I was actually surprised to find perfect, creamy, orange flesh when I sliced into each of the three mangoes (it’s been awhile since I’ve had a really good one – that’s why I bought three). The organic avocado, however, was a let-down.  I separated the two halves to find a grayish-green hue that reminded me of Frankenstein’s goulish complexion.  That night we had really sweet mango slices for dessert.  No regrets there.  The next day, feeling mildly obsessed, I returned to the store armed with my list of salad ingredients ready for a re-do.  I am currently giving the new avocado another day to sit on my kitchen counter and become the bright grass-green, butter-yellow delight we both know it can be.

In the meantime, yesterday was Monday, and as I sat at my kitchen table at six o’clock in the morning, having that first sip of coffee, thinking about the week ahead, the question, “What’s for dinner?” brought me into focus.  However, twelve hours later and I still had no idea, so instinctively I began to boil a large pot of water and took it from there.

Last night’s meal was simple and I threw it together as I went along: whole wheat spaghetti tossed with garlic and fresh sage-turned golden in a saute pan of a little butter and olive oil,  fresh green beans sauteed with more garlic and olive oil, and I’m just gonna say it – Trader Joe’s turkey meatballs that I warmed in the oven and finished with a drizzle of olive oil.  A girl has got to take a short-cut once in a while and Trader Joes brand rarely lets me down.  I sliced a little fresh mozzarella cheese for the table and done.

And then I wound up at Urgent Care at 9:00 pm with my daughter who accidently swallowed a rock.  She’s fine and I know I’ll be seeing that rock again one day soon.  But that is another story.

When was the last time you created a meal on the fly?  What did you make?  Did you surprise yourself with tasty results?

4 thoughts on “Update on Goulish Avocado Mango Salad and Last Night’s No-Plan Dinner Keeps the Vampires Away

  1. Girl, you don’t have to apologize for those TJ Turkey Meatballs- those are served up like once a week in my house (or I occasionally use the meatless ones). Who the heck has time to make homemade meatballs? Maybe when my kids are older but right now, I’ll use those to add a little protein into my guys’ meals.

    I wish I could send you some avocados from California. We are spoiled with such good ones.

    Like

  2. I am truly enjoying these blogs…the dishes sound mouth watering. Can’t wait to try some. And I am glad your daughter is ok !!!! A rock, ok, wondering why but ok.

    Like

Leave a Reply

